skip navigation

Learn to Scull Clinic

Learn to Scull 2021 - Registration Now Open!

Check out our Learn to Scull Clinic:

 

Are you looking for a new activity this summer and enjoy physical activity while being on the water? The Annapolis Rowing Club is offering a Learn to Scull (LTS) program to teach and share our love for rowing. Sculling is a type of rowing where the rower has an oar in each hand and this program will focus on learning how to scull in a single or a boat with just one person. We have an exceptional team of coaches that are ready to introduce you to the sport of rowing. If you have an interest in learning to row, are already a rower and are interested in learning to scull, or would like to refresh your rowing abilities after a break from the sport, we encourage you to sign up for LTS now as seats are limited!

As you are learning in a single boat, this activity is in compliance with Anne Arundel County's, the state of Maryland, and CDC's COVID guidelines. All participants are asked to wear a mask at the Boathouse and social distancing is encouraged. Individuals will be instructed on the procedures for minimizing cross contamination by disinfecting oars, boats, and other equipment.

What will you do?

During LTS you will learn the following, with the goal to feel more comfortable in a single and have fun learning how to row:

- Introduction to the rowing stroke

- Nomenclature and terminology of sculling

- Safety equipment and ARC's Rules of the Row

- Preparing the boat to row

- Launching, rowing, and returning to the dock

- Turning, steering, and backing the boat

- Getting back into the boat

- Weather considerations and traffic patterns on waterways

LTS will be a six (6) session program where each lesson will be two (2) hours. The program will be two (2) week long with three (3) sessions per week.

When and How to Sign Up

Session #1 Dates and Times:  May 8 - 19, 2021
May 8 Saturday 10AM-12PM  
May 10 Monday 5PM-7PM  
May 12 Wednesday 5PM-7PM  
May 15 Saturday 10AM-12PM  
May 17 Monday 5PM-7PM  
May 19 Wednesday 5PM-7PM  
     
Session #2 DATES AND TIMES:  JUNE 5 - 16, 2021
June 5 Saturday 10AM-12PM
June 7 Monday 5PM-7PM
June 9 Wednesday 5PM-7PM
June 12 Saturday 10AM-12PM
June 14 Monday 5PM-7PM
June 16 Wednesday 5PM-7PM

 

Fee: Learn To Scull will be $465 per participant